Ode for a Boy


My body is a temple
Going through transition
My Soul is preparing
For a real important mission
My muscles are all achy
My brain is a mess
I’m trying not to worry
Or cause myself to stress
There’s days I can’t eat
When all I do is sleep
I can’t be my own caretaker
And that causes me to weep
I’m growing a human within me
Who demands as much as I can give
I’m fighting for a bit of peace
As I help this Soul to live
My husband tries to care for me
But I don’t make it easy
Accepting care from others
Makes me all the more queasy
I can’t control my body temp
I switch from hot to cold
This is everything that I fear
About getting old
I try to find moments between the pain
To pause and take in the joy
And wish in a whisper beneath my breath
Please, make this one a boy.

Questions, answers, comments, & complaints are all welcome.

